2019 MG Owners' Club - Production MG Championship


Rounds 11 and 12 -  Castle Combe

With just three meetings left of the season a good entry of 22 cars made the trip down the M4 to Castle Combe for two 20 minute races on a well organised Castle Combe Racing Club meeting. With good weather forecast everyone was looking forward to some good racing on this 1.85 mile high speed circuit.


On a dry track, pole position was taken by the MGF of Martin Wills who was joined on the front row by his arch rival Simon Kendrick. Row two saw the ZRs of Steve McDermid and Stuart Philps. The third row was occupied by the ZR's of Nick Golhar and Steve Darbey with Stuart Philps, Ian Lawton and Ray Ferguson and Adrian Olsson, who was having his first race for nine years, all in close company behind.

After a strong performance at the previous Thruxton meeting Will Sharpe put his 1275 Midget on pole from the MGB of Jim Baynam with James Pryor in 3rd place ahead of Dave Amphlett, Bob Fisher, Chris Flooks and returning former champion Malcolm Hill.

Matt Gozalves took the Class B pole ahead of Sarah Sullivan.

Round 3

When the red lights went out the whole field got away cleanly with the MGF of Kendrick initially taking the lead from Wills with McDermid in 3rd place and leading the Class Z cars ahead of Darbey with Plotnek in 5th place ahead of the ZR's of Philps and Golhar.

As the race progressed the places remained largely unchanged with Kendrick holding a narrow lead over Wills with McDermid in 3rd place and leading the Class Z field from Philps and Darbey who had moved ahead of Plotnek into 5th place.

As the race reached the halfway point Kendrick had extended his lead over Wills and looked well on course to take the win. Kendrick continued to extend his lead and went on to take his fifth win of the season by 4.57 secs from Wills who was three seconds ahead of the Class Z winning ZR of McDermid. Philps took 4th place ahead of Darbey who took 5th place and 3rd in Class Z after a tremendous battle with Golhar and Plotnek.

In the Classic Class, Baynam made the best start and lead into the daunting Avon Rise/Quarry sequence of corners ahead of Sharpe with Pryor and Amphlett close behind. The Midget of Sharpe was quicker through the chicanes but Baynam had a slight power advantage on the three long straights and the two leaders were never more than a few lengths apart. It all changed on lap 9 when Baynam was boxed in by a backmarker at Tower with Sharpe taking full advantage to move into the lead.  Sharpe quickly established a comfortable lead and looked set to follow his Thruxton success with another win.  Behind the front two cars, Pryor had a 200 metre lead over Millard and Amphlett who were having a close battle for 4th in Class.

Sharpe reeled off the remaining laps in confident style to take the Classic Class win from Baynam with Pryor in 3rd place ahead of Millard, Amphlett, Fisher and Flooks.

Matt Gozalves took the Class B win from Sarah Sullivan.

Round 12

In a repeat of the earlier race, Kendrick nosed ahead of Wills at the start and held a narrow lead until lap 3 when Wills found a way past and into the lead. Kendrick then took to the grass at the chicane and dropped back to 13th place and clearly out of contention to repeat his success in the earlier race.  Plotnek moved in to 2nd place ahead of the leading ZR of Darbey who was then passed by McDermid.

Wills looked well in control and held a 50 metre lead over Plotnek who was secure in 2nd place some way ahead of McDermid who was inching away from Darbey and Philps who were having their own private ZR battle for 4th place.

Wills went on to take his 6th win of the season and consolidate his position at the head of the Class F points table. Plotnek took an excellent 2nd place ahead of McDermid who took the Class Z win ahead of Darbey who pipped Philps for 5th place by a couple of cars lengths. Kendrick recovered well from his early excursion onto the grass to take 6th place and pick up some useful points in Class F.

The Classic Class race started the same way as the earlier race with Baynam taking an early lead from Sharpe. It all changed on lap 2 when Baynam ran wide at the Chicane allowing Sharpe to take the lead.  Sharpe quickly established a 50 metre lead but in the latter stages of the race Baynam began to close the gap and took the outside line at Avon Rise, the two cars tangled and Baynam recovered from the resulting spin and returned to the track in the lead.  Baynam went on to take a hollow victory from Sharpe who got passed Pryor on the last lap to take 2nd place. Pryor took his second 3rd place of the day ahead of Millard, Amphlett and Fisher

New lap records were set by Simon Kendrick in Class F, Matt Gozalves in Class B and Jim Baynam in Classic Class

Star Drives

Simon Kendrick – an impressive win and a new lap record in Race 1  

Stuart Plotnek – a strong drive to 2nd place in Race 2.

Visit the MGOC Championship website www.mgoc-championship.co.uk to see the full race results and current Championship positions.


Race Reports
Silverstone International
Brand Hatch
Donington Park
Oulton Park
Castle Combe
Mallory Park


Sponsors | Championship Archive | Links | Suppliers | Privacy Policy